Power-to-Gas Webinar

May 26, 2020

Event Details:

May 26, 2020

10:00 am-12:30 pm (PST)

Zoom

Register here and join us for an exclusive webinar focusing on power-to-gas (P2G) technology on Tuesday, May 26.

Hosted by the CHFCA, K’ul Group, and Trade Commissioner Service (TCS), the webinar will discuss how low-cost, low-carbon intensity hydrogen can be produced using surplus renewable energy and subsequently be injected into the natural gas grid. In doing so, the hydrogen can displace natural gas, reducing greenhouse gas emissions and reliance on high-carbon fuels.  Other topics include power-to-gas initiatives that are currently underway in Canada and the US, as well as opportunities for First Nations and independent power producers to develop renewable P2G projects.

The line-up of webinar speakers includes representatives from Natural Resources Canada, US Department of Energy (DOE) Fuel Cell Technologies Office, RedwoodAdaptive, Hydrogenics, Air Liquide, Enbridge, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), HTEC, Renewable Hydrogen Canada (RH2C), University of British Columbia (UBC), Siemens, FortisBC, SoCal Gas, British Columbia Utilities Commission (BCUC), and more.

Please see below for the webinar agenda:

Time Topic Speaker(s)
10:00 AM PST

(1:00 PM EST)

Welcome remarks Mark Kirby, CHFCA
10:02 AM PST

(1:02 PM EST)

Canadian and US government perspectives on hydrogen Aaron Hoskin, Natural Resources Canada

 

Sunita Satyapal, US DOE Fuel Cell Technologies Office

10:22 AM PST

(1:22 PM EST)

Why is it important to First Nations? Jonathan Baynes, K’ul Group

David Brent Grantham, RedwoodAdaptive

10:32 AM PST

(1:32 PM EST)

Producing hydrogen using power Michel Archambault, Hydrogenics

Jacques Senechal & Jean Watelle, Air Liquide Canada

Chris Norris, Siemens

11:02 AM PST

(2:02 PM EST)

 

Blending hydrogen into pipelines John Quinn, FortisBC

Shawn Hove & Patrick Lamoureaux, Pro-Pipe Service

Joshua Brinkerhoff, UBC Okanagan

11:32 AM PST

(2:32 PM EST)

Case studies in Canada and the US Colin Armstrong, HTEC & John Quinn, FortisBC

Sam McDermott, Enbridge

Juergen Puetter, Renewable Hydrogen Canada

Kevin Harrison, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Ron Kent, SoCal Gas

12:22 PM PST

(03:22 PM EST)

Regulation and policy

 

Nicola Simon, British Columbia Utilities Commission (BCUC)
12:32 PM PST

(03:32 PM EST)

Q&A
12:50 PM PST

(03:50 PM EST)

Adjournment