Trade Mission to Japan

March 3-5, 2021

Tokyo, Japan

Event Details:

March 3-5, 2021

Tokyo Big Sight, 3 Chome-11-1 Ariake, Koto City, Tokyo 135-0063, Japan

Webinar: Introduction of Canadian delegation at FC EXPO 2021

Hosted by the Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association (CHFCA) and Global Affairs Canada

 

To join the meeting via MS Teams, please use the following links:

Wednesday, March 3 – Click here to join the meeting

Thursday, March 4 – Click here to join the meeting

Friday, March 5 – Click here to join the meeting

 

Agenda:

 

Time (JST Tokyo) /

 (PST Vancouver)

Company/Organization Speaker
11:00 am JST / 6:00 pm PST Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association (CHFCA) Mark Kirby, President and CEO
11:10 am JST / 6:10 pm PST AVL Fuel Cell Canada Roger Penn, Senior Engineer
11:20 am JST / 6:20 pm PST Ballard Power Systems Norman Chor, Account Manager, Asia Pacific
11:30 am JST / 6:30 pm PST Ionomr Innovations Andrew Belletti, Director of R&D Marketing
11:40 am JST / 6:40 pm PST Loop Energy George Rubin, Chief Commercial Officer
11:50 am JST / 6:50 pm PST Next Hydrogen Alan Tan, Business Development Director
12:00 pm JST / 7:00 pm PST Unilia Canada Fuel Cell Stephen Hamada, Product Development Specialist
12:10 pm JST / 7:10 pm PST Q&A  

 

 

Canadian delegation members:

 

AVL Fuel Cell Canadahttps://www.avl.com/-/avl-vancouver-canada

  • Based in Burnaby, British Columbia
  • The world’s largest independent company for the development, simulation and testing of powertrain systems (hybrid, combustion engine, transmission, electric drive, batteries, fuel cell and control technology) for passenger cars, commercial vehicles, construction, large engines and their integration into the vehicle.
  • Representatives at FC EXPO 2021:

 

Ballard Power Systems www.ballard.com/

  • Headquartered in Burnaby, British Columbia
  • A developer and manufacturer of proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell products for markets such as heavy-duty motive (consisting of bus and tram applications), portable power, material handling as well as technology solutions including engineering services
  • Representatives at FC EXPO 2021:

 

Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Associationwww.chfca.ca

  • Headquartered in Vancouver, British Columbia
  • A national, non-profit industry association that supports Canadian corporations, governments and educational institutions that are developing, demonstrating and deploying hydrogen and fuel cell products and services in Canada.
  • Representatives at FC EXPO 2021:

 

Ionomr Innovationshttps://ionomr.com/

  • Headquartered in Vancouver, British Columbia
  • A developer of highly conductive, recyclable and environmentally benign, cation-exchange membranes for use in fuel cells, electrolyzers and other electrochemical technologies
  • Representatives at FC EXPO 2021:

Loop Energyhttps://loopenergy.com/

  • Headquartered in Burnaby, British Columbia
  • Loop Energy is a developer and provider of zero-emission power systems for medium to heavy-duty transportation truck and bus applications. Loop is working with globally recognized vehicle manufacturers to design and deliver carbon-free motive solutions using both electric and hydrogen fuel cell technologies that deliver superior performance to conventional diesel engines at a competitive cost of ownership, without subsidies.
  • Representatives at FC EXPO 2021:

Next Hydrogenhttps://nexthydrogen.com/

  • Headquartered in Mississauga, Ontario
  • Next Hydrogen’s innovative water electrolysis technology is designed to integrate intermittent renewable electric power sources and clean hydrogen production on an infrastructure scale. Next Hydrogen’s patented cell architecture, which enables

modules up to 2.8 MW; gives operational flexibility rivalling PEM electrolysers while delivering the lifecycle economics of market proven alkaline systems. Because it can run at a higher current density than conventional electrolysers, its operating range is larger, and because gas-liquid separators and gas coolers are built inside the module multi-MW hydrogen generation plants can be pre-assembled in shipping containers, reducing plant erection cost

 

Unilia Canada Fuel Cell

  • Headquartered in Burnaby, British Columbia
  • A Vancouver-based international hydrogen fuel cell stack engineering and manufacturing company at the forefront of the vehicle electrification movement. The company’s core competencies in electrochemical engineering, stack design, and at-scale production are led by a team of domain experts all of whom are industry veterans. With R&D and production facilities also in China, Unilia was built from the ground to offer unparalleled competitive advantage through technological edge, manufacturing prowess, and, importantly, market access.
  • Representatives at FC EXPO 2021: