« Back to Member Directory

Dr. Tapan Bose

Honourary Member

Dr. Tapan Bose (1940-2008) was a ubiquitous figure in the international hydrogen community. He was the recipient of numerous awards that recognized both his contributions to the advancement of hydrogen science and technology and his contributions to global partnerships in the hydrogen community. Dr. Bose served as President of the Canadian Hydrogen Association and President of the Hydrogen Engine Centre Canada. He was also a Director with the International Association for Hydrogen Energy and a Director and proponent of the Partnership for Advancing the Transition to Hydrogen (PATH).

He was a former professor of physics and founding Director of the Hydrogen Research Institute at the University of Quebec in Canada.  He was a former Chairman of ISO/TC 197 for hydrogen technologies. Dr. Bose was a member of the Hydrogen Technical Advisory Group of Natural Resources Canada.

Prof. Bose authored and co-authored more than 140 publications and 4 books. He was the author of 14 patents and numerous technical reports. He has delivered more than 100 invited lectures.

He co-authored the book “Hydrogen; Facing the energy challenges of the 21st century” with Pierre Malbrunot published in 2007.


March 8, 2001 Meritorious Service Award for outstanding leadership of both ISO TC 197 and the Canadian Hydrogen Association, National Hydrogen Association, USA.

Octobre 1994 Laureata of Research and Development, 5th Énergia Gala, Association québécoise pour la maîtrise de l’énergie (AQME).

March 26, 1994 Medal of Merit from the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières for his scholarly achievements.

April 23, 1993 Medal of the Governor General of Canada for services rendered to Canada on the occasion of the 125th anniversary of the Confederation.

Honorary Member of the Canadian Hydrogen Association 2006